La La and off to London

Do you know something, that’s the least exciting comment in the world if London is where you come from-makes it about as exciting as Wigan on a wet Wednesday.

Yes, the time has come to deliver M____ to her doting grandparents for the holidays. So it’s trial-by-parent for me for the next few days…. Down tomorrow afternoon, as Mr A____ has to work in the morning, spending tomorrow and Friday hanging about with parents, then catch up with Matt (my brother) and the lovely Kali on Saturday at some point, then head off to that monument of goth culture, The Dev. AKA the Devonshire Arms.

dev.jpg

(The bar staff)

(For those of you who don’t know what Wikipedia describes as the longest running ‘Alternative’ pub in the world or
Look here

We had been thinking abouut going to Inferno at the Electric Ballroom, but lucked out on the date,

or to the Slimelight, look here for the world’s longest-running Goth club , but we again lucked out, as there is a band on and it’s only two floors, not the third neccessary for a traditional goth floor…….

So it’s off to The Dev for a pint with as many of the Scooby Gang as we can drag up for the occasion…….It’s the thought of that which will sustain me for the next two days of inquisition and torture (otherwise known as a visit to my mother). I wonder if she’d notice if I wore earplugs. She would you know, she notices EVERYTHING, like a superannuated eagle or something. I thought you were supposed to become deaf, blind etc…no, I think she’s been honing her spidey-powers to catch me out.

It comes to something when you have to smuggle your goth gear down and get changed at your brother’s to go out……aged 40. At least Matt has a flat now to go back to when trashed, used to be awful when we had no choice but to go back to Mum’s…..standing there going ‘Will I pass for normal?’ to each other at the end of the road before we got home like a pair of twelve year olds after a bottle of cider in the park. (Standard answer of course from both sides, was ‘you, never!).

Think to self- suffering- Dev- inquisition-Dev…you can get through it!

13 Responses to “La La and off to London”

  1. As someone who spent many summer holidays in London but never saw any of those places, it surely sounds like a fun weekend, if only you could get away with the earplugs lol

    Have fun meeting up with your mates anyway πŸ™‚

  2. I’m sure you can do it Khlari, be strong! πŸ˜‰
    I hope you have lots of fun!

  3. :em43: :em44: :em58: :em39: :em09:

    Hehehe – just testing out this smilies plugin idea that I stole from Mr Spicy

  4. Ah! So you nicked ’em from me, AD! I don’t mind… They’re fun!

    As for London, Khlari, the same applies to those who have lived there a long time but aren’t natives… Having lived there 14 years, whenever I return it is never with the excitement others have towards the place. I do enjoy London, but it no longer thrills – which is to be expected, it isn’t a new experience any more. x

  5. The smilies need a goth face for you folks… The closest I can get right now is: :em57:

    but that’s more Pirates of the Caribbean… :em26:

  6. The captcha code plugin is already driving me insane, by the way… :em30:

  7. Can you add smilie codes to this? I’m certain Matthew has some gothy ones for our message board.

    I guess we all can say the same about the places we grow up -> but London! I could spend years in your cemeteries alone!!! And no I’m not kidding .. πŸ™‚

    Congrats on both the domain, and new template!

  8. I survived….only just. Am also going to be pretty quiet for the next couple of weeks….the novel submission looms on the horizon…… :em51:

  9. Hi Khlari,
    glad to see you’re back πŸ™‚
    I was just wondering; did you ever find your cat back?

  10. Hope you had a great time.

  11. Hrrrmph. My Dad was in a foul mood, and with the smoking ban spent more time outside the Dev than in it, am quite glad to be back!

    Nathalitanis…still no cat, not a sign of him!

  12. Glad you survived and made it back in one piece. :em20:

    Luck with your book, not that you really need luck, just time :em21:

  13. Time??? What’s that? :em22:

Leave a Reply

