Talent Nights, Timewarps, The Catholic Church and Taramosalata…..#1

A mixed bag of a weekend. My darling daughter somehow convinced me to enter the school talent contest with her, singing – The Timewarp. Great, except it is a Catholic School, and some of the lyrics may well have been considered more than slightly morally dubious by the people who already give me dirty looks when I darken the school gates by my mere presence…….

So the pelvic thrust gave way to ‘the wiggle round’, and Columbia’s smutty verse was replaced by a squeaky-clean school themed one. I just hid the truth of Magenta’s under a thick Transylvanian accent.. The things I have to do. Then I had to spend the rest of the week improvising a Columbia costume for a very small person. (I’m kind of well-provided for Magenta, though I did cut the suspenders out, add a less revealing top and a longer skirt……). It was possibly the longest evening in history. By the time we came on, Berni, Giana and I were slowly losing the will to live (but they had to stay to vote!) We had various not very successful magicians and petrified small children meeping into the mike. We did come second, but M_____ most miffed as we had charitably voted for the person who beat us by one vote.

Saturday morning, went to commission the jewelery I am having made with the 40th Birthday money from my parents. By pure fluke the other week found a fantastic lady on Pedder Street who hand-makes silver jewellery, and allows you to choose and feel the stones, and design the setting, and to cap it all is a Pagan (we got chatting). Fell in love with a fantastic hat in black veiling with black roses but even I with my tenuous grasp of the neccessity or not of clothes couldn’t convince myself a hat at £185.00 was a neccessity……but it was gorgeous….

Saturday afternoon was feeling really icky again, but was determined to go round to AmethystDragon’s house as it was TNO’s birthday, so ended up even having an afternoon nap to try and achieve this, and taking even more medication. Woke up at 4.30pm feeling even worse…….aaagh!

3 Responses to “Talent Nights, Timewarps, The Catholic Church and Taramosalata…..#1”

  1. well done with the contest, I would have loved to see you!! 😀
    Shame you keep feeling bad though – get well soon!

  2. Please please please say you took some photos of yourselves dolled up for the talent contest 😀

    Hope you’re feeling better hun, it’s just not fair that you keep feeling so crook 😦

  3. Yes, Berni took some but they will have to be developed in the old fashioned way first!

    Will scan them in and put them up!

Leave a Reply

