Champagne Cocktails, Transport Cock-ups, Tiaras, and the Shanghai Shuffle…..the misadventures of a wild weekend #2

Where did I get to? Oh yes, bawling out the hits at Shanghai Shuffle. Made a complete idiot of myself, as did the whole place! But it was very good fun. very nice cocktails, I was obliged to drink ‘Pretty in Pink’ ones all night to co-ordinate with my outfit…..(that’s my excuse). Then we went off in search of somewhere else to go. Wandered up and down Sauchiehall Street, trying to find somewhere still open, and Giana was struggling a bit as she’s on crutches…….

Finally decided that the hotel had a bar, so had to go there and demolish even more champagne……and Drambuie. Finally got to bed after Bernie had decided to ring Mr A at 3 am and heavy-breathe at him. His response- ‘Bernadette, do you have asthma?’ Finally to bed at about 4am……

Crawled out of bed and had an enormous breakfast, then off to Central Station for a train……here goes my train jinx again.

We had to get a train to Carlisle, wait a bit, then on to a place called Hellifield (none of us even knew where that was), then finally Lancaster. Five hours. Had to ring Mr A to tell him to come and get me straight from the station……

Carlisle was shut. Literally. Bang went all hope of a cup of tea. Then they tried to convince us to go by bus to Lancaster…(No- not on a Sunday thanks.) On to Hellifield over the Settle and Carlisle line, supposedly one of the most beautiful train lines in the world. We were a little to frazzled to notice as we stopped at all of the 13 stops en route….to Hellifield.

Which turned out to be in North Yorkshire, so we were only about 30 miles from Leeds…some detour.

Finally got to Lancaster, then in the car and Mr A had to drive me down to London. Took ages even to get the other side of Preston. Then going fine till we hit near monsoon the other side of Northampton. Didn’t arrive till 11.30 as then had to drive at 30mph, couldn’t see anything.

M________ really pleased to see us and disgustingly spoilt and brown after weekend at hideous family reunion.

Monday morning, Mr A went on a mission, to buy an OTT African wedding suit…and he did. It’s red and black with a long zoot-suit like jacket, and he is seriously in love with it. Wouldn’t be too bad but I have to be with him when he wears it……… Then he topped it all by buying a t-shirt with 50s bathing beauties on it. I despair. He seems to like the OTT clothes in Hackney, why did I take him???? I now have to walk down the street with a goth pirate in a zoot suit.

Then back to Lancaster. OK, Mr A had to drive, and we didn’t get home til 7pm after his shopping spree. So in one weekend I have done the equivalent of a return trip from London to Glasgow with detours. Now need a holiday to get over it all.

5 Responses to “Champagne Cocktails, Transport Cock-ups, Tiaras, and the Shanghai Shuffle…..the misadventures of a wild weekend #2”

  1. chaotickitty Says:

    I know Hellifield, one of my best friends at school lived there! I went to school in Settle, and no doubt you went through Bentham on the way to Lancaster, which is where I used to live 🙂 And still spend a lot of time in when I see my parents.

    Sounds like you had a lot of fun, can’t wait to see Mr A’s suit!

  2. Wow, you’ve been busy!
    I love all the photos to go with the story.

  3. Cup of tea in Carlisle station on a Sunday! You must be joking!! You were lucky there were any trains my dear lol :o)

    I too look forward to seeing Mr A in his suit … I’m sure the image in my mind doesn’t do it or him justice 😀

  4. Quite the marathon! Have you ever thought of doing all this for charity? x

  5. I love the purple suit.

    I think I will keep away from trains – I do not do well with transport at the moment.

Leave a Reply

