Write me Happy!!! (That’s Damn Scary)

Mr Spicy Cauldron has set me a meme challenge as I am apparently a miserable old goth-bat…..

“Now, I have a meme for you to start off. I’m calling it Write Me Happy. You have to write a post that ONLY contains references to the things in your life that make you happy, contented, fulfilled, etc etc. NO NEGATIVES. Tell the world some good stuff in your life. At least two decent paragraphs. No one-liners. No snappy sentence and that’s it. “

Alright, here goes with it……things that make me happy.

Paganism

It’s basically my kind of religion. I was brought up being dictated to about what you should do and believe, how and when you must do it. Paganism has an inner liberty, an inbuilt freedom where everybody can find and follow their own path, and there is no empirical ‘right’ or ‘wrong’. There are no ‘experts’ and everybody’s knowledge and experience are valued equally.

Paganism doesn’t throw guilt onto everyday activities such as sex, it is celebrated as part of the human experience. There is not a fixed morality, but a code of give out what you would like to receive back. There is also nothing like the special feeling you seem to get amongst a group of pagans, a certain shared intimacy, a warm glow, a creative buzz……..

Friends

I love my friends, I really do. They put up with me wittering and being a drama queen and part-time psycho-bitch . I like to share, and unfortunately that sometimes includes the v bad times as well as the good times. My friends have been my rock, they have saved my sanity when everyone else gave up.

When I think of my friends I have a nice warm feeling in my tummy, and mental pictures such as Mr SC drunkenly playing ‘I have never’ and rambling about ‘The Faraway Tree’ at 5am in the Morecambe (and all of us joining in….) or lying with my head on Matt and talking rubbish about Marc Almond with Mart Mia and Jack til the sun comes up. Punting drunk with Catherine in Cambridge on the day of our ‘O’ Level results, singing nursery rhymes in Transylvania to the bears with Peggy, drinking jasmine tea in La Defense with Cathy, Christophe and Linda….friends to me are important, and should be cherished. I think most of them know that I would do anything for them, and once my friend, always my friend.

Writing

I know that on the whole, I probably write an immense amount of pure drivel, which some misguided individuals occasionally choose to read. (You can get medication for it you know). Oh yes- am being fluffy, nearly forgot. There is nothing like the pure adrenaline buzz that you get when you put something down on the blank page and it begins to make a story, a narrative, a poem. It seems to suddenly form itself.

Writing take on a life of its own, it suddenly begins to live apart from its maker…there is an amazing feeling when something you have written is actually on the printed page before you…..and I love doing it- cathartic, mind-changing, deranged (often), a playground for thoughts and ideas…..

Painting

I love to paint, although it has almost been so long that I have probably forgotten how to hold a paintbrush by now. Painting was one of my first loves, and one of my eternal dilemnas has always been what I do about this…..I am unable to make a decision, I love to write and I love to paint, that’s how you end up on a stpid degree like Art History- because they won’t let you do one in Writing and Painting!

My writing is quite dark, so I guess that my painting shows the other side of my personality. In print I am all doom and gloom and gothic, but in paint I am light and bright and extreme…..so now you can see where all my happy thoughts have been hiding…had to stop when M____ was born after an experience involving M___ and a jar of neat turpentine….oil painting and babies don’t go! I paint LARGE and in oils, which is also kind of limiting, as that requires space! I’m just arty-person basically – I also love to do ceramics, sculpture, collage, screen-printing….all those non-money making skills!

Books

You can never have too many books. This is true, never, ever, have too many books. I love books. I sometimes go and stand in second-hand bookshops and sniff. You can tell by this statement I am very very sad indeed. Books have been my constant companions in life. I have been able to read since I was about three, and it has always been my favourite thing to do.

I have discovered all sorts of things from reading, it makes me laugh, cry, find new worlds, explore other cultures…..Books are always there for you, however you feel and they can transform any mood in an instant.

Mr A and M_________

Yes I moan about them I know. Mr A has now been in my life for almost a year, since Dam and Woo’s wedding in fact. He has, completely, changed my life. He has made me feel so much better about myself and my life, he supports me in whatever I do, he gives advice not criticism, and above all, it is important to him whether I am happy or not. A year down the line, I still fancy him like a sad teenager, and am still finding out things about him. He makes me laugh, he shares in the good times and the often difficult ones, and he is full of surprises. He loves M_____ and she loves him back without prompting. I just love him very much.

M_____ is an amazing little girl. She has gone through so much in her short life, she has been to almost as many schools as she has had years on the planet, she has changed countries, towns, cultures……. She is fiendishly intelligent, frighteningly self-sufficeint, and wildly opinionated! She is bright and beautiful, with a naughty twinkle in her eye. I don’t know what I would do without her.

Without either of them in fact……

There Mr SC and not a fluffy bunny in sight!

I tag…………….

Kitty @Kitty’s Ramblings

TrashCanDan @Musings of a Damaged Mind

Amethyst Dragon @ Musings of a Purple Dragon

Beaut1ful @ My Place

Silent Fruitbat @ Silent’s World

10 Responses to “Write me Happy!!! (That’s Damn Scary)”

  1. Oh god – You mad bat – I haven’t done the other 2 things you tagged me for yet !!!!

  2. I was theoretically only allowed to tag miserable old blogging goths………hmmmmmm how many of them do I know???

  3. TrashCanDan Says:

    Awww…MAN!!! Give me a few days to shake off this malaise. 😉

  4. hmm … right … ok … not sure if I fit the “miserable old blogging goth” category but I have been a ‘tad’ miserable recently so will give it a go …. tomorrow time lol. I’m seriously behind in my blogging, doubt I can remember any of the ideas I’ve had :o(

  5. Oh and Burt Lancaster in The Crimson Pirate … Burt Lancaster in just about anything of that time … YUM :op

  6. Was Mr A as Crimson Pirate! ha ha ha …..You are an honorary goth Beaut1ful!

  7. Hahahahahahahahahaha! Excellent! I love your responses, you rose to the challenge really well and I can’t wait to see how the others do…. Very nice! And I share many of them, actually! xx

  8. I guess a lot of them will be shared as we all tend to like a lot of the same things!

  9. […] and best of all some I see in both :o) Spicy Cauldron & SunnyD, Amethyst Dragon & TNO, Khlari & Mr A, Silent, Magrat, Debs, Pam. I have other friends, good friends, but these are my core, […]

Leave a Reply

