Catastrophes, Courts, Road Trips, Rain, Rouen and Bakewell Tarts #5

Fit the fifth..in which the Bakewell Tart may become evident…….

We eventually went back to the hotel and fell asleep, interrupted by phone calls from our friends and family, AD and D among others, until I took pity on Mr A and we headed off to the Leclerc cafeteria as he was again ‘fading away’………

The next morning we headed off back to Blighty with a double mission ahead……well triple really. To get to Calais, to visit my great-grandfather’s grave in the Aisne, and to get some pressies for people……

Left around 8, and fairly whizzed as far as Rouen this time, as we even managed to find the elusive A28 which had eluded us before…..up to Tours……and then on and on and on and on. I had looked this up on the War Grave Commission site, with directions…..and they went on, and on some more. First find P_____ we did, then the route took us back the way we came in……

Mr A ‘suggested’ that I could have asked the woman at the Peage on the motorway, not seeming to realise WE ARE IN THE SOMME….surrounded by war cemetries, and I happened to know this one was small………. then got annoyed when I mentioned that little fact. So we argued all the way there…. Mr A finally ignored the route given…and we found it. Every town we had been through was closed, and I hadn’t been able to get any flowers anywhere. In France they DON’T sell them in petrol stations………. The sun was settling, we were rattling down a narrow unlit cart track, but we were there.

I found Sydney eventually. He’s been there since 1917 with no-one visiting. Noticed with a little pang that he was the age I am now when he died. His son only died in 2005. But I had nothing to put on the grave, which upset me after coming all this way.

Mr A then said…something from home, and hared back to the car. Returning with a Bakewell Tart. There we were, two mad goths in the deserted graveyard at sunset in the back of beyond, and I was laughing and crying at the same time. Mr A said ‘A taste from home, thought he’d appreciate it’. He was, after all in the Nottingham and Derbyshire regiment, so it seemd oddly appropriate. So Sydney lies there with a Bakewell Tart to remember him by.

On to Calais……

4 Responses to “Catastrophes, Courts, Road Trips, Rain, Rouen and Bakewell Tarts #5”

  1. Amazing! Thank you so much for sharing. I’ve had an extremely bad day today and this made it much better.

  2. What a lovely idea ……….

  3. Was a surreal idea…I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry……..Thanks everyone for reading it!! It was an oddly affirming experience….

  4. I’ve been reading all these reports along the way, but wanted to backtrack a little and say this one I found very moving. It’s a great story, and I am sure the bakewell tart was appreciated. x

Leave a Reply

