Undressing

Ease away my many layers,
you take away my fragile shells.
Prising gently, so carefully,
coaxing slowly further out the
living Matrioska. Softly
lifting the layers one by one,
eventually, painstakingly,
the raw tender core is revealed.

You take away all the chagrin,
drying my every bitter tear,
Staunching the deepest of my wounds,
healing the slightest fleeting hurt,
Soothing all of my sorrows and
allaying any preying fears.
Peel the last onion skins of my
cover, so lovingly away.

Unwind the artifice of my
cocoon, the web I hide behind,
I am blinking, unexpected,
uncovered, unveiled, now unmasked
Yet no longer scared of the day,
because you are here with me and
In the searing unimagined
naked daylight, we first embrace.

Leave a Reply

