I was twenty one years when I wrote this song…….and it’s been too bloody long!

I was twenty one years when I wrote this song I'm twenty two now, but I won't be for long People ask when will you grow up to be a man But all the girls I loved at school are already pushing prams I loved you then as I love you still Tho I put you on a pedestal,They put you on the pill I don't feel bad about letting you go I just feel sad about letting you know I don't want to change the world I'm not looking for a new England I'm just looking for another girl I don't want to change the world I'm not looking for a new England I'm just looking for another girl I loved the words you wrote to me But that was bloody yesterday I can't survive on what you send Every time you need a friend I saw two shooting stars last night I wished on them but they were only satellites Is it wrong to wish on space hardware I wish, I wish, I wish you'd care I don't want to change the world I'm not looking for a new England I'm just looking for another girl This song, which I was listening to, (and even attempting to play on the guitar, must have been drunk), has meant a lot to me over the years. I wasn't even 21 when I heard this song, I was sixteen. Full of ideals, and beliefs that change was possible. Now it's over 21 years since I first heard it, and not much has changed. I've been away and come back, yet England is still the same in many ways. It's still a beautiful song, but now it has quite a bittersweet quality given to it by time……

2 Responses to “I was twenty one years when I wrote this song…….and it’s been too bloody long!”

  1. Jason Boehle Says:

    What is the name of that song? Is it sung by Billy Bragg? Just heard it in the movie Half Nelson, and your link was the first one that came up in Google.

  2. It is sung by Billy Bragg, in about 1983?4? and there was a cover done by Kirsty McColl. The song is called ‘A New England’.

Leave a Reply

